January Mix

With the purchse of our new computer, we have entered the 21st century with all its new-fangled technology. Which is why it was only yesterday — after deciding to take the day off or risk my head exploding from the tedium that is my day job — that I was able to finally go digging through my music collection in search of a mix CD. Soon after I finished (four hours after I began), I flipped on the tube and caught a commercial for the upcoming “broadcast television premiere” of High Fidelity. Where’s Alanis Morissette when you need her?

So in the interest of . . . well, I can’t actually think of a reason that this would be of interest to anyone, but here’s the playlist:

  • “Getting Married” Sam Phillips
  • “This Mess We’re In” P.J. Harvey
  • “Try Not To Breathe” R.E.M.
  • “I’ve Seen It All” Bjork
  • “God Rest His Soul” The 31st of February *
  • “Widow’s Walk” Suzanne Vega
  • “I Need You Like a Drug” They Eat Their Own
  • “Faces in Disguise” Sunny Day Real Estate
  • “Northern Sky” Nick Drake
  • “North Dakota” Lyle Lovett
  • “Mount Washington” Beth Orton
  • “Past the Mission” Tori Amos
  • “Round the Bend” Beck
  • “Into the Mystic” Van Morrison
  • “5&1/2 Minute Hallway” Poe
  • “No Way Out” Peter Gabriel
  • “love is more thicker than forget” The Story

“North Dakota,” which has always been one of my favorite songs, was a last-second replacement for “One More Colour” by Sarah Polley and Mychael Danna (from The Sweet Hereafter soundtrack), and I’m starting to regret the move. I needed something a little more up-tempo to get from Nick Drake to Beth Orton. All in all, a great little collection, though. I’ve always had a thing for driving around by myself on those first warm days of spring, preferably around dusk and with the windows down. This CD will make a great companion for those trips.

Feel free to pass along your favorite mixes. I’m always looking for good music.

* The 31st of February was an early incarnation of the Allman Brothers. “God Rest His Soul” can be found on the first disc of their Dreams boxset.